Secretus

09Feb09

Last night I told about the secret. It feels really great letting out, and I was more than happy with the reactions I receieved. I was rather impressed of my accomplishments myself, but the comments and talk that followed promptly after me telling family the secret were pleasing.

So here is the secret: Esperanto.

You’re probably thinking “whaaat?” – yeah, Esperanto. Esperanto is an international auxilary language created by L. L. Zamenhof in 1887, or at least that is when he published the first book, which outlined the language and gave general language structure– I think it came with a dictionary, but I’m not really sure. Zamenhof’s goal was to create an easy-to-learn secondary language for anyone and everyone to learn; his idea was that if everyone spoke one language, there would be peace. Verbal disputes in his community that were started because of segregation by language would no longer be a problem.

So pretty much: I am learning this language. I don’t really remember how I came across the whole thing originally, but almost instantly I thought it was a really cool idea, and researched a bit further. I started the FEC in early January, I had nearly zero understanding of the language from the start. This course is a really good idea, and gives people who wish to learn Esperanto a jump-start– you’re assigned a personal tutor, who you can send the lessons to, he or she will then mark your work, and send it back. This isn’t any kind of automated robot type thing, you are actually helped by a real person; my tutor ended up living in Toronto, just about an hour away from me. Even after finishing the course, I still talk to him now and then, on MSN, and it’s really nice to have him there for further direction and help when I need it. (big thanks Detlef!)

I decided to keep it all a secret until I had finished that course and learned quite a lot more. I can speak a little bit of the language, the grammar structure is the hardest part, for me; and once you have that down, it’s just vocabulary and word-building, really. Detlef directed me to lernu.net to look at some of the Intermediate material, and I’m reading through this huge “Gerda Malaperis” PDF file, that comes with stories; on the page before each story you’re given all of the vocabulary in that story.

This entire ordeal has given me a real interest in language; and I think I may even take a Spanish course next year. Learning another language will be even easier with Esperanto. I hope to be fluent by the time I leave high-school; it will probably even come earlier.

Esperanto is awesome.

“Gxis baldaux”

That means, “until soon” – pronounced “jees baldow”

(the Xs indicate accents, when typing it is easier to put an x after the word with an accent, instead of getting the character with the accent)


One Response to “Secretus”

  1. 1 Persiarain

    Austin gomes
    this is actually incredible


Leave a Reply

